SHL's Eta Sigma Delta Inducts New Members

On Thursday evening, October 24, 2019 the School of Hospitality Leadership’s (SHL) Eta Sigma Delta Chapter inducted its new members. ESD President Jana Sager welcomed new members and Dr. Bob O’Halloran shared an overview of Eta Sigma Delta and its history. The guest speaker for the evening was Tyler McDowell, General Manager of the Holiday Inn Greenville, SHL alumnus, and co-chair of the SHL Advisory Board. Mr. McDowell addressed the new inductees with a thoughtful speech relating the ESD Five Points of Honor, Excellence, Leadership, Creativity, Service and Ethics to his hospitality experience and student’s emerging careers.

Eta Sigma Delta was established to satisfy an identified need to recognize hospitality and tourism students for outstanding academic achievement, meritorious service and demonstrated professionalism. Previously, honor societies existed for other disciplines, but not for the field of study serving one of the world’s largest industries.

ESD Points of Honor

We light this candle to represent our continuous pursuit of Excellence in all we do. Through the quest for Excellence, we pledge to uphold high standards for both academic and professional achievement. This candle shines for Excellence.

We light this candle as a hallmark of Leadership. A leader is like a light held high that brightens the way for others. Let us each pledge that in our personal and professional relationships, we will demonstrate the qualities of Leadership. This candle shines for Leadership.

We light this candle in recognition of Creativity. We realize that our ability to think creatively will affect the future of our professions. Our innovation will lead to better decisions and outcomes. This light shines for Creativity.

We light this candle to acknowledge the importance of Service. After all, it is Service that makes the hospitality industry unique. May our concern for others help promote our professional success and inspire us to lead lives of Service. This candle shines for Service.

We light this final candle to establish the commitment we have to Ethics. The consideration of the Ethics guides our personal and professional decision-making. May this final candle brilliantly light the way for each of us throughout our lives. This candle shines for Ethics.

New ESD inductees are Hailee Austin, Mackenzie Cooke, Katie Harrison, Gena Horton, Ho-Chiao Hsia, Autumn Hubbard and Tyler McDowell.

Congratulations to all!