Eta Sigma Delta Inducts 16

The School of Hospitality Leadership inducted sixteen new members into Eta Sigma Delta the International Hospitality Honor Society during the Oct 14, 2020 virtual induction ceremony. Eta Sigma Delta is led by the following student officers: President Hailee Austin, Vice President Laura Weber, and Secretary-Treasurer Toketa Greenfield.

Dr. Cynthia Deale, professor in the School of Hospitality Leadership (SHL) is the Honor Society advisor and was one of the original founders of the SHL chapter ten years ago. The SHL chapter has been a global honor society leader and has been recognized multiple times as one of the top three chapters in the world and specifically noted for its service projects.

Who’s Eligible?
The school must be a current Institutional member of International CHRIE. The ESD Society grants membership based on the following categories of individuals: Students, Alumni, Graduate Student, and Honorary. An undergraduate or graduate student must have completed 50% of credit hours required for graduation in an institution that has become a chapter of the Society.

The ceremony began with a greeting from chapter president Hailee Austin. Dr. Deale shared the history of Eta Sigma Delta and Dr. OHalloran, SHL Director, congratulated all and offered brief remarks for students to consider as they progress in their careers.

President Austin then introduced Eta Sigma Delta’s five Points of Honor and called on all new members to review the Points of Honor. After each Point of Honor, Austin lit a ceremonial candle to signify its importance.

The five points of honor are excellence, leadership, creativity, service, and ethics.

Students then took the Eta Sigma Delta oath, and all members were introduced to the group. Each member will receive a certificate, cord, and ESD Pin.

The ceremony was attended by  new members, existing members, guests and SHL faculty. New members include:

Rhodra Michelle Anderson-Brown
Katie Ann Beck
Brittany Viands Buie
Miriam Allie Caughron
Olivia Faith Ciarrocchi
Kristin Hope Cooper
Bryant Stephens Culbreth
Victoria Lynn Dale
Faith Christine Alexandra Dickson
Ariel Helena Jacobs
Jason Duane McGee
Sydney Taylor Pons
Jordyn LaRue Rubio
Anna Brooke Veroude
Emily Ann Willis
Courtney Lee Wyatt


The chapter president shared concluding remarks and then the membership induction transitioned into an Eta Sigma Delta business meeting.